****UPDATE – LAST MARATHON CONFIRMED****


****UPDATE****

Hi!

As you’ll know the Luton Marathon was cancelled at the weekend, this leaves me one marathon short of completing twelve this year.

For those of you that know me you’ll know how important it is for me to complete this marathon. I made a deal to do something back in 2009 to get more people aware of the DRC and this marathon is crucial to completing this.

I’ve had some great ideas about how I go about completing the last marathon and thanks to everyone who has suggested them! However, having spoken with Dom, we’ve decided that this Saturday we will run the last marathon round Richmond Park. We both just want to run, Forest Gump has got nothing on us!! There will be no watches, mile markers, drinks stands or anything like that, just a couple of chumps running round a cold park on a Saturday morning when it would make more sense to be in bed. Sometimes there isn’t always a route and you have to make your own, that’s one of the things I’ve learnt this year. I had no plan or map to get people interested in the DRC, so I made my own and that’s what we are doing this weekend making our own route because we’ve got no other choice – doesn’t matter where we run, just that we run because I made a promise to do this.

The distance round Richmond Park is 7.35 miles. We will be running from Earlsfield to Richmond Park (about 4 miles) and then doing 3 laps round Richmond Park.

The plan is to start at 10am, but given our time keeping skills it’ll be probably nearer 10.15. If you feel inclined to come and run then please do come down. To make things a little bit more interesting and to prepare me for my next challenge in 2011 I will be wearing my weight vest and carrying an extra 10kg on my back. I’m not sure how long I’ll be able to keep it up for, but I thought I’d give it a go.

If you are near Richmond Park feel free to come down and run along with us, we won’t be racing, I think for both of us it will be more about thinking about the year and the situation in the Congo than trying to break records. Drop me an email if you fancy joining us for some or all of the run – c.a.jackson@hotmail.co.uk or call 07910518384.

All the very best,

Jackson!!

P.s What cheese should you eat when someone throws a coffee at you??

Dodge-a-latte!

One thought on “****UPDATE – LAST MARATHON CONFIRMED****

  1. Chris & Dom are amazing young men who are running even though its bitterly cold to help women in war-torn countries rebuild their lives. THANK YOU SO MUCH and well done on running 12 marathons! What are you going to do in 2011 – the 100th anniversay of international women’s day!!

Leave a Reply

