‘I’m not sure I’ll ever get over it’ – Guardian


Coverage in today’s Guardian of the attempt to run 12 marathons in 12 months to get more people aware of the ongoing conflict and suffering in the DRC. PLease take a minute to have a read of this as it very important issue that we should all know a little bit more about.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/2010/dec/03/highlighting-rape-in-congo

The last marathon on Sunday in Luton has been cancelled by the organisers, however, i’m currently thinking of how i get round this to make sure i complete 12 marathons in 12 months, because this has to happen

 

3 thoughts on “‘I’m not sure I’ll ever get over it’ – Guardian

  1. Chris, good on you for the efforts you are making – the Guardian story was so completely shocking… As a woman involved in many social and humanitarian events, I am constantly appalled by the violence perpetrated daily on women and children the word over. Thank you for promoting awareness! And good luck with all that running, Lord knows I couldn’t do that myself! You are inspirational.

  2. Hi Chris,

    Thank you for caring. It is too easy to live our lives day to day as if the reality that other people suffer through is another world to this one, another species that is disconnected from us.

    I honour your complete commitment to do more. I appreciate that, as you say, the scope and scale of the challenge cannot be solved by running a few marathons, however I think that it is a great start!

    I am very interested in speaking to you about what you can do now. I am interested in a number of different areas and I would like to speak to you about your future plans to see if I can help in any way.

    Warmest regards and respect
    Chris Nash
    07795364044
    chris.nash@e-club.org.uk

  3. Pingback: The end of the blogging and run for congo. « Kayaking for Congo!

Leave a Reply

