Speed-dating and New York


Speed dating for Congo was a massive success last night thanks to Laura Beswick and array of cupids making sure the event ran as smoothly as possible. I think it is fair to say it was a very successful night.

Thank you to all of you who took part, we helped raise over £160 for Women for Women International and over £160 for the Freshair Fund and had a good time in the process.

Tomorrow I’ll be heading off to NY to take part in the New York Marathon, this will be the 11th Marathon of the year to help raise awareness of the ongoing plight that many women, men and children face in eastern region of the DRC.

I’ve had a tricky few weeks with a bad ankle of late. I started to feel quite down about the whole thing, but then I started to think about many of the women I met in the DRC, who continue to be incredibly upbeat and positive despite suffering horrific wounds at the hands of their attackers. Two of these women standout and I’ll be thinking about them when I run on Sunday. With only two marathons to go this year, I’m determined to go out with a bang so I’ll be doing my best to break my fastest marathon time…

Hopefully see one or two of you round the course on Sunday morning..

Chris

One thought on “Speed-dating and New York

  1. Pingback: Friday round up |

Leave a Reply

