things are going badly.


 

We have no toothpaste. I’m severely dehydrated because I’m worried about needing a piss on the bus and now I’ve just lost one of the greatest blog postings known to made. It had dizzying highs and some pretty low lows in it, but hey things happen and I’ll try again.

so having an absolute blast in Uganda and Rwanda. Partying quite hard but also getting a lot of down time to relax and think about the days coming ahead.

Just in Kigali at the moment and thinking about the next move. the plan is to go to Goma, before moving down to Bukavu to catch up with Women for Women before heading back to Kigali to meet up with Nicola, Fjona and Millie.

Currently got a lot going through my head about the run in the Congo – what will it achieve and is it really stupid like many people have said. i probably won’t know until i take the first steps. dom and i had a little jog yesterday at altitude and it was pretty tough, but it was worth it to climb a hill that juts out of lake bunyoni and then embark on a game of football will some children from the village. If the run didn’t’ tire me out, the football certainly did.

Before we go to Goma we are going to head to the Kigali Memorial Centre, a place to remember the many dead from the genocide in Rwanda in 1994. The fall out from this still goes on with many Rwandan’s still displaced and living in goma. I’m pretty scared about going, I’ve previously been, but given this year I think it will really leave me feeling pretty cold. I hope that what I read and see there will keep me going and provide a valuable bit of context to the days ahead.

My mind is so relaxed at the moment, but I still have a cocktail of emotion running through my head. It is pretty daunting and upsetting when you kept getting told don’t do anything stupid, stay out of trouble, come back alive and then hearing your mum holding back the tears on the phone. That was pretty hard, I wish I had given her a proper hug the last time I saw her. Just typing this I can’t remember the last time I saw her or my dad. My memory is bad.

I think she thinks she won’t see me again. She’s wrong, I’ll be back and back much stronger than ever before. Maybe this is a bit of bravado, but part of me thinks it will be fine I’m not taking any risks and don’t intend to. If the worst happens then obviously that’s not great, but it won’t, I’ll make sure of that. I ‘m just excited because I’m doing something and trying to do something positive with myself, having the last few days to sit and relax and think about this year fills me with so much pride. It is amazing what you can do. Now I just want to do more.

The ‘running’ in Congo kicks off today as we head to Goma. This is going to be a strange moment, this time last year it changed my life, by killing something inside of me. I don’t really go into all that life changing bollocks, but it certaintly took me in a new direction. There were some dark days in Goma, but things have changed and I can’t wait to be back there. I felt like a kid last year on a bit of stupid of adventure. Now I feel like I’ve got more of a purpose. I want to share with people what I saw and heard. Hopefully by doing this you’ll all understand what drives me on in races and to keep doing more and most importantly why it is important that more people understand about the conflict in the DRC.

All the best,

Jackson.

p.s we have toothpaste now and my urine is clear – just downed a big bottle of water!

9 thoughts on “things are going badly.

  1. Agreed on all of it Jackson, only this is all happened to me for the first time. Life changing bollocks sounds like bollocks, but it exists.

  2. Hi Chris

    Great to hear from you.

    Glad to hear everything is going well

    I think when you meet some of the women, children and families who have been affected by this terrible conflict and see some of the inspiring work happening to help them rebuild their lives, it will be a life changing experience for you.

    And a life changing experience for people you meet along the way.

    Good luck for the 18th, we will be cheering you on.

    Helen
    XX

  3. told @al_humphreys and @tobiasmews about your mission yesterday. so new endurance fans building. all the best in DRC – no konyagi night before…

  4. so many thoughts and so proud, keep your eyes up and your legs going and I am with you all the way, its not stupid its brilliant

  5. Glad to hear you are making it through and facing your challenge…stay strong! I remember the culture shock when I was doing an internship in northern Uganda. I’m a divorced mother of three, facing all the challenges of rasing 3 teenagers while still trying to make time to finish grad school and continue to chase my dreams of tackling poverty in Africa and ending the suffering of those that have no voice.

    You will overcome this challenge with flying colors.

    Safe journey, Safe return

  6. I understand people telling you it’s stupid. But it’s not, and we all know inside what we personally can do to help. You’re acting on yours. Keep running!!

  7. Chris,

    Your very presence in the DRC this week and next is raising the level of awareness about the conflict and the horrific victimization of Congolese women and children more than you’ll ever really know. Thousands of friends and strangers (like me) are following your blog, perhaps thinking you’re crazy but for certain believing you both to be incredibly brave and compassionate.

    You’ve traveled to a place few of us would dare to go to be a voice for the voiceless and give hope to the hopeless. You’re heroes. Stay alert, stay safe. We’re praying for you and wishing you well.

    Michelle

Leave a Reply

